Thompson CT Car Insurance Laws

An accident might wreck your car, but it doesn’t have to wreck your life or your finances. Auto insurance is there to protect you just in case something does go wrong, allowing you to pay for medical care, afford vehicle repairs, and pull your life back together. But in Connecticut, car insurance is more than just a good idea—it’s also the law. Drivers need Thompson CT car insurance for property damage, bodily injury, and uninsured or underinsured motorists.


Liability Coverage


Liability coverage is insurance that covers property damage and bodily injuries for accidents where you were the one at fault. By law, you must have a policy that covers at least $20,000 in bodily injury per person per accident, and $40,000 total. For property damage, you must have coverage for at least $10,000.


Uninsured Motorist Coverage


Although having Thompson CT car insurance is required by law, some people still choose not to get it. Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance ensures you will still be covered even if you are in an accident where an uninsured driver is at fault or the driver’s insurance policy cannot cover your medical bills. Again, you must have a policy that covers at least $20,000 per person and $40,000 total per accident.


All Connecticut car insurance plans should involve, at minimum, these types of insurance. In addition, many companies offer more comprehensive Thompson CT car insurance coverage with extended features—do a little research to find the plan which is best for you.


photo credit: pedrosimoes7 cc